How To: Make Popcorn on the Stovetop

Confession: I love movies and TV (I know, shocker) and I love watching the Academy Awards. Awards season is one of my favorite things about Hollywood. Why? Well, I’m not really sure. But I love watching the opening monologues, seeing what the stars are wearing, and pretending to be angry year after year when my favorites aren’t nominated (Nick Offerman? John Noble? Fringe? Nope. Leonardo DiCaprio? Ha. What a joke.)

The boyfriend and I love settling into a movie and eating popcorn. And ever since I discovered how much cheaper it is to buy the kernels and popping them over the stove ourselves, that’s what we’ve been doing. I love making our own popcorn and we usually make some 2-3 times a week. It’s surprising because I used to hate popcorn with a vengeance, but that’s a story for another time.

How to make popcorn ingredients

Ingredients you will need are your popcorn kernels, popcorn oil, and any seasoning that you might want. We usually buy the cheapest kernels that our grocery store carries, but my mom gave Ryan these Orville Redenbacher kernels for Christmas. We’ll probably be buying those from now on because our popcorn is noticeably fluffier. My mom also gave him the seasoning sampler pack. This pack has Zesty Cheddar, Movie Theater Style, Buttery Jalapeno, and Ranch. We’d already used all the cheddar by the time this photo was taken, and this time I decided to make movie theater style.

Popcorn in measuring cup

You’ll need 1/3 cup of your kernels…

Popcorn in pot

You should heat your stovetop on medium, put your kernels in, and use just enough oil so that they are covered, unless you want to use more, of course, then cover your pot with a lid. It’s going to take a few minutes for your popcorn to start popping, and until then, you’ll want to shake the pot once or twice. When the popcorn begins to pop, constantly move your pot, back and forth, circular, whatever, it just needs to be moving. When you notice that the popping has slowed down, just like in the microwave, remove it from the heat, and pour it into your container. From there, just mix in your seasonings and enjoy!

(Our favorite seasonings are movie theater butter and cheddar, but there are some really yummy mixtures out there. I’ve had honey butter and sea salt popcorn, which was delicious. And I seem to remember having peanut butter popcorn when I was younger, but no one else remembers that…)

Leave a Reply

